Iowa Area Education Agencies

AEA Awards

It is with great pleasure that Iowa's Area Education Agencies announce the recipients of the 2017 awards. Pictured from left, Chad Houston, Sharon Moser, David Barajas, and Dr. Bill Withers. 

Friend of the AEA
Chad Houston, President of Kruck Plumbing in Boone
David Barajas, CEO, Marshalltown Regional Partnership

Dr. E. Robert Stephens
Dr. Bill Withers, Board Member, Keystone Area Education Agency in Elkader

Innovative Creator
Sharon Moser, Library Paraeducator, Fort Dodge Community School District

The winners were honored at the Iowa AEA Boards of Directors’ Conference on March 30-31, 2017 in Des Moines. Over 50 people were nominated among the three categories. This is the first year of for the recognition system. 

The three awards and criteria, can be found here. Please watch for announcements regarding the 2018 recognition. 

Friend of the AEA Award

Acknowledges contributions by policymakers, citizens, board members, school district partners, businesses, and organizations who have been great partners and demonstrate strong support for furthering the mission of Iowa’s AEAs. Open to all policymakers, citizens, board members, school district partners, businesses and organizations.

E. Robert Stephens Award

Dr. E. Robert Stephens, better known as “Dr. Bob” and the father of the AEA system, acknowledges contributions in the area of innovation and support to local districts, AEAs, the Department of Education and other partners/organizations. There should be evidence of outstanding contributions to the well being of the educational community including: Benefits of this individual’s leadership; Creative leadership in inspiring and motivating others to achieve and contribute; Strong commitment to the profession by active participation in professional activities; and Evidence that the individual is respected by his/her colleagues and the community. Open to AEA staff who serve in an administrative role and AEA board members.

Innovative Creator

Celebrates amazingly innovative and creative thinking and actions to get results for students, educators, the AEA system, school districts, and other partners. Open to all AEA staff, board members, educators, policymakers, students...all of us are creators!

For more information, please contact Connie Johnson.

Iowa Area Education Agencies
Central Rivers AEA Grant Wood AEA Great Prairie AEA Green Hills AEA Heartland AEA Keystone AEA Mississippi Bend Northwest AEA Prarie Lakes AEA
All Iowa AEAs are required to adhere to state and federal laws that prohibit discrimination in programs, activities and employment practices. For specific information, contact your AEA.
Iowa Area Education Agencies
Connie Johnson
Statewide Communications Director
Iowa Area Education Agencies
712/335-3588 ext. 2015

Social Media
pinterest twitter facebook blog
About AEAs
Iowa Area Education Agencies (AEAs) were created in 1974 by the Iowa legislature to ensure equal educational opportunities for all children from birth through age 21. As regional service agencies, AEAs provide special education and school improvement services for students, families, teachers, administrators, and their communities.

© 2018 Iowa Area Education Agencies. All Rights Reserved.

home | sitemap | feedback
© 2018 Iowa Area Education Agencies. All Rights Reserved.