Skip to content

School Counselors- Let’s Network!

We’re so glad to meet you!

Your AEA school counseling contact’s goal is to help build success for all students by supporting school counselors in their unique roles within schools and ultimately promote better outcomes for all students through the work of the school counselor.  Some of the ways that AEA school counselor contacts support the work of school counselors include:

  • Demonstrating a clear understanding of the role of the school counselor, which is done through thorough understanding and application of the ASCA National Model, Fourth Edition.
  • Providing professional learning for school counselors, including coaching, modeling, and providing resources throughout the three domains of Academic, Social-Emotional Learning, and College and Career Readiness of the ASCA National Model, Fourth Edition.
  • Engaging a network of school counselors for the purposes of sharing best practices, supporting one another professionally, and communicating consistently on topics relevant to school counselors.
  • Advocating for school counselors across agency, district, state, and national systems, and developing strategic partnerships to benefit school counselors and their students.
  • Connecting a variety of educational initiatives such as PBIS, MTSS, Future Ready, SEBH, etc to the role of the school counselor and articulating the school counselor’s role in each.
  • Attending professional development about trends and best practices in school counseling, which can then be shared with the school counselor network. 
  • Being available as a resource for questions pertaining to school counselors or school counseling programs.

 

AEA School Counselor Contacts

KEYSTONE AEA

Scotti Hagensick

shagensick@keystoneaea.org 

563-245-1480

MISSISSIPPI BEND AEA

Dave Ford

dford@mbaea.org

563-344-6571

GREAT PRAIRIE AEA

Jaci Jarmes

jaci.jarmes@gpaea.org

641-660-1847

GRANT WOOD AEA

Debra Brokaw

dbrokaw@gwaea.org

319-399-6790


Aimee Hospodarsky           

ahospodarsky@gwaea.org

319-399-6816

CENTRAL RIVERS AEA

Angie Koop 

akoop@centralriversaea.org

319-429-0567

 

Chuck Buseman

cbuseman@centralriversaea.org

641-425-5954

  

PRAIRIE LAKES AEA

Courtney Cook

ccook@plaea.org

712-346-5037

NORTHWEST AEA

Mark Shea

mshea@nwaea.org

712-222-6332

HEARTLAND AEA

Sue Schirmer

sschirmer@heartlandaea.org

515-383-5006

GREEN HILLS AEA

Andrea Danker          

adanker@ghaea.org 

712-307-2482

 

Kathy Hanafan

hanafan@ghaea.org 

712-307-2482 

 

99% of educators surveyed report that they are satisfied with AEA graphic design, specialty print and audio/video production services.